Beyond 10th-level

The classes described in Class Compendium contain character features for levels 1-10. But what happens when ten levels aren't enough? What do you do when you want your campaign to go even further beyond?


To keep playing beyond 10th-level, enable multiclassing and allow your players to gain levels in multiple classes.

As players advance in levels, their proficiency bonus is determined by the total sum of their class levels—this is their character level. Use the Proficiency Bonus table to see what bonus is granted at each character level.

Multiclassing Options

If you want to customize multiclassing to better suit your game, consider the following options:

Focused Training

You can only choose a new multiclass option once you reach 10th-level in a class.


A character can have a maximum of three incomplete classes at any one time. Once a class reaches 10th-level, it's considered complete.

Proficiency Bonuses

Character Level Proficiency Bonus
1st +2
2nd +2
3rd +2
4th +2
5th +3
6th +3
7th +3
8th +3
9th +4
10th +4
11th +4
12th +4
13rd +5
14th +5
15th +5
16th +5
17th +6
18th +6
19th +6
20th +6
21st +7
22nd +7
23rd +7
24th +7
25th +8
26th +8
27th +8
28th +8
29th +9
30th +9
31st +9
32nd +9
33rd +10
34th +10
35th +10
36th +10
37th +11
38th +11
39th +11
40th +11