Ranger Archetypes

Rangers are skill trackers, hunters, and trappers. But no two rangers hunt the same—your personal tastes define your hunting style. Are you a lone wolf or a pack leader? Do you favor weapons, spells, or traps? Where do you hunt, and what's your prey?

Choose a Ranger Archetype to help perfect your own, unique hunting style.

Choose Your Archetype

Choose your archetype from one of the following options:

  • Fey Walker: You have a primal connection with the natural world, granting you magical power and an innate awareness of your surroundings.

Creating an Archetype

To create your own Ranger Archetype (or to convert an existing archetype from other sources), follow these steps:

  1. Add 1 Trap: At 1st-level, ranger archetypes expand the ranger trap list with 1 unique trap. Create interesting ways to bait, capture, and control prey in ways that are thematic to your archetype—be flavorsome.
  2. Create 1st, 3rd, and 6th-level Features: Ranger archetypes grant features at 1st, 3rd, and 6th-level.
  3. Create a 9th-level Capstone: At 9th-level, ranger archetypes grant a unique capstone feature that is the pinnacle of your archetype's theming.

And that's it, your archetype is complete!

Fey Walker

You can speak the primal language of nature. Perhaps you have always been drawn to the natural world, or you received some guidance from a druidic mentor? Perhaps the blood of the fey flows in your veins?

Whatever your background, you have an innate and magical connection with the primal powers of nature.


You gain the ability to cast spells by harnessing the primal essence of nature.


Level Spells Known
Spell Slots
1st 2nd 3rd
1st 2 2
2nd 2 2
3rd 3 3
4th 3 3
5th 4 4 2
6th 4 4 2
7th 5 4 3
8th 5 4 3
9th 6 4 3 2
10th 6 4 3 2

Spell Slots

The Spellcasting (Primal) table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your spells of 1st-level and higher. To cast one of your spells, you must spend a slot of the spell's level or higher. You regain all expended spell slots when you finish a long rest.

Spells Known of 1st-level and Higher

At 1st-level, you know two 1st-level spells of your choice from the ranger spell list. The Spells Known column of the Spellcasting (Primal) table shows when you learn more ranger spells of your choice. Each of these spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots.

Replacing Known Spells: When you gain a ranger level, you may choose one of the ranger spells you know and replace it with another spell from the ranger spell list. This new spell must be of a level for which you have spell slots.

Spellcasting Ability

Wisdom is your spellcasting ability for your ranger spells. Use your Wisdom modifier to determine the saving throw DC or attack modifier for a ranger spell you cast.

Spellcasting Ability

Spell Save DC: 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Wisdom modifier

Spell Attack Modifier: your proficiency bonus + your Wisdom modifier

Spellcasting Focus

You use a druidic focus as a spellcasting focus for your ranger spells.

Primal Versatility

When you finish a long rest, you can replace one of your known ranger spells with another spell from the ranger spell list.

1Primal Trap

Spend 1 scrap to prepare a primal trap. When a creature that you can see moves within 30 ft of you, you can activate a primal trap. The creature must make a Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, magical plant roots erupt from the ground in a 15 ft radius circle centered on the creature. The ground is considered as difficult terrain. This effect lasts for up to 10 minutes.

  • Stumble: (+1 scrap) On a failed save, the creature is knocked prone.
  • Distracting: (+2 scrap) Concentration saving throws made within the primal area have disadvantage.
  • Thorns: (+1 scrap) On a failed save, the creature takes 2d4 piercing damage.

3Primal Awareness

You are able to focus your natural awareness. You can cast each of the spells listed below once without expending a spell slot, even if they are not on your known spell list.

Once you cast a spell in this way, you can’t do so again until you finish a long rest.

Primal Awareness

Minimum Level Spell
3rd Detect Magic, Speak with Animals
5th Beast Sense, Locate Animals or Plants
9th Speak with Plants

6Fey Stride

Moving through nonmagical difficult terrain—including that caused by your primal trap—costs you no extra movement. You can also pass through nonmagical plants without being slowed by them and without taking damage from them if they have thorns, spines, or a similar hazard.

In addition, you have advantage on saving throws against plants that are magically created or manipulated to impede movement—such those created by the Entangle spell.


You can spend a bonus action to magically become invisible—along with any equipment you are wearing or carrying—until the start of your next turn.

You can use this feature a number of times equal to your Wisdom modifier, and you regain expended uses when you finish a long rest.

Spell List

Class Feature (Ranger, Primal)


01-05Absorb Elements
11-15Animal Friendship
16-20Beast Bond
21-25Cure Wounds
26-30Detect Magic
31-35Detect Poison and Disease
36-40Ensnaring Strike
46-50Fog Cloud
56-60Hail of Thorns
76-80Speak with Animals
81-85Zephyr Strike


06-10Animal Messenger
16-20Beast Sense
21-25Cordon of Arrows
31-35Enhance Ability
36-40Find Traps
41-45Gust of Wind
46-50Healing Spirit
51-55Lesser Restoration
56-60Locate Animals or Plants
61-65Locate Object
66-70Magic Weapon
71-75Pass without Trace
76-80Protection from Poison
86-90Spike Growth
91-95Warding Bond


01-06Conjure Animals
07-12Conjure Barrage
19-24Flame Arrows
25-30Lightning Arrow
31-36Meld into Stone
43-48Plant Growth
49-54Protection from Energy
61-66Speak with Plants
73-78Water Breathing
79-84Water Walk
85-90Wind Wall